Our Difficulty Rating System


Our difficulty rating system:

Our trips are sorted into easy, moderate, and difficult categories. On a scale of 1 to 5, a 1-2 is easy, a 3 is moderate, and a 4-5 is difficult.

How do we determine these difficulty ratings?

For every 2 miles or 750ft of elevation gain, the difficulty level increases by 1 level on that 1-5 scale. Whichever is highest between the mileage and elevation determines the overall difficulty level.

1: 2 miles, 750ft (eg. Baldwin Hills Scenic Overlook)

2: 4 miles, 1500ft (eg. Eaton Canyon Falls)

3: 6 miles, 2250ft (eg. Echo Mountain or Mishe Mokwa Trail to Sandstone Peak)

4: 8 miles, 3000ft (eg. Icehouse Canyon or Los Liones to Parker Mesa)

5: 10 miles, 3750ft (eg. Mt. Baldy or Bridge to Nowhere)

For example, a 6 mile hike with 1500ft elevation gain would be a 3 because the mileage is the hardest part. But a 6 mile hike with 3000ft elevation gain would be a 4 because the elevation is the hardest part. 

How do you know what difficulty level is right for you?

Keep in mind that our hikes will be at a conversational pace so we can all Think Outside by having dope conversations together. Don't be intimidated by the numbers, you're probably capable of a lot more than you think. Our hikes involve plenty of water & snack breaks, at least one longer stop in the middle for lunch & discussion, and we'll adjust the pace to make sure everyone is together. Our intention is to create conversation and connection, not to push people through crazy mountainside races (unless you're into that).

If you're a beginner, you might want to start in the 1-3 range and you could then work your way up to a 5. Although if you're very active in other ways, you could be in good enough shape for more strenuous hikes even if you don't hike a lot. You can always feel free to contact the trip lead of any specific trips you're considering to explain your circumstances if you want to ask them whether they feel you'd be okay on that particular hike.